POLICE COMMUNIQUÉ: Localised Temporary Restrictions of Movement Order made by the Prime Minister under section 3 of the Quarantine Act 2020

The public is hereby informed that on 30th April, 2021, by virtue of section 3(1)(b) of the Quarantine Act 2020, the Prime Minister, Minister of Defence, Home Affairs and External Communications, Minister for Rodrigues, Outer Islands and Territorial Integrity has issued a Localised Temporary Restrictions of Movement Order under section 3 of the Quarantine Act 2020, vide GN 609 of 2021, that all persons resident in the area listed hereunder shall remain indoor until further notice:-

1. St Aubin
2. Rivière des Anguilles
3. Tyack
4. Batimarais
5. Bénares

2. Moreover, persons resident in an area listed above shall, at no time, travel outside that area, and persons not resident in these areas shall, at no time, enter those areas.

3. However, paragraph 1 shall not apply to the following persons or class of persons who have to travel outside, or enter, an area listed above: –

(a) a person who has to avail himself, or to any other member of his family, of medical treatment, or to procure medicine, or any other item essential for his or his family’s subsistence or livelihood;

(b) a person who is, pursuant to the COVID-19 (Closing Down of Premises and Restriction of Activities) (No. 2) Regulations 2021, authorised to be outdoor strictly on allocated days or authorised to carry out specific activities;

(c) employees of the Disciplined Forces while on official duty;

(d) a Judge or Magistrate, or an officer of the Judicial Department, designated by the Chief Justice;

(e) a medical practitioner for the purpose of attending a hospital or private health institution, or for the purpose of domiciliary visits;

(f) a pharmacist for the purpose of attending his pharmacy;

(g) a person who has to avail his pet of veterinary treatment;

(h) a person required to attend a Court by virtue of a summons issued by the Court;

(i) a person who is issued with a permit by the Commissioner of Police under section 3(2) of the Quarantine Act 2020.

4. This Order has been issued in the interest of public health and to protect the population. Members of the public are urged to be self-disciplined and, whilst being outdoor as authorised, to strictly abide to the COVID-19 (Closing Down of Premises and Restriction of Activities) (No. 2) Regulations 2021 and to the Preventive and Sanitary Measures (COVID-19) Regulations 2021.


5. Any person whose services are essential and are required to move in and out of the Red Zone should apply for Special WAP.


6. Employees of public and private sector organisations and private individuals, whose services are essential for the running of the business/work and who are required to move in and out of the Red Zone should apply for Special WAPs on website besafemoris.mu.

7. Only those who are holders of WAPs are eligible to apply for Special WAPs.


8. No WAP is required for students proceeding from their place of residence to and coming from Examination Centres and accompanying responsible party. Students should be in possession of their time table and student ID card. Likewise, accompanying responsible parties should be in possession of their NIC and a copy of the time table.


9. (a) Access to commercial premises such as Markets/ shopping malls/hypermarkets/superrettes/meat/poultry/fish shops/ food retail shops/retail shops (magasins), bank, post offices and hardware shops (Quincailleries) shall be controlled on the principle of alphabetical categorisation of customers. Access to customers thereto shall be granted only on presentation, in case of a –

(i) citizen of Mauritius, his National Identity Card or passport;

(ii) foreigner, his passport or residence, occupation or work permit.

(b) All customers will be able to shop strictly on allocated days as indicated hereunder –

Surname starting from –

A-F (Monday and Thursday)

G-N (Tuesday and Friday)

O-Z (Wednesday and Saturday)

10. Commercial premises shall arrange for social distancing markings outside and inside their respective outlets. Outlets at commercial premises will demarcate queuing lines by way of floor markings. Outlets will also demarcate social distancing inside their premises. Customers shall adhere strictly to these markings.

11. Commercial premises will open on Monday to Saturday between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. Banks will open during their normal banking hours. Commercial premises, except pharmacies and petrol stations, shall remain closed on Sundays.

12. The Commissioner of Police may impose conditions on the movement of holders of Special WAPs and reserve the right to revoke any permit issued in case of misuse or breach of conditions imposed or false or misleading information provided on the application form.

13. Any person who is found outdoor in breach of this Order shall commit an offence and shall, on conviction, be liable to a fine not exceeding 500,000 rupees and to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 5 years.

3 May 2021

Source: Government Information Service